This website collects and stores your anonymized IP address (see Privacy policy) and uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site, you accept our use of cookies.

Regions in Argentina

Argentina is made up of 24 primary administrative regions. Have a closer look at the regions in Argentina. Information on all primary administrative regions in Argentina.

Please click on a region name for more information on this region.

You can sort the regions in Argentina alphabeticallyby population by capitals of the regionsby capitals population

Primary administrative regions in Argentina

There are 24 regions in Argentina in the primary administrative level.
Primary administrative regions in Argentina
RegionNoPopulationCapitalCapital population
Buenos Aires Provincia de Buenos Aires1.13,827,203La Plata La Plata694,167
Buenos Aires F.D. Ciudad Autónoma de Buenos Aires2.2,776,138Buenos Aires Buenos Aires13,076,300
Catamarca Provincia de Catamarca3.334,568San Fernando del Valle de Catamarca San Fernando del Valle de Catamarca188,812
Chaco Provincia del Chaco4.984,446Resistencia Resistencia387,158
Chubut Provincia del Chubut5.413,237Rawson Rawson26,335
Cordoba Provincia de Córdoba6.3,066,801Cordoba Córdoba1,428,214
Corrientes Provincia de Corrientes7.930,991Corrientes Corrientes339,067
Entre Rios Provincia de Entre Ríos8.1,158,147Parana Paraná262,295
Formosa Provincia de Formosa9.486,559Formosa Formosa221,383
Jujuy Provincia de Jujuy10.611,888San Salvador de Jujuy San Salvador de Jujuy305,891
La Pampa Provincia de La Pampa11.299,294Santa Rosa Santa Rosa111,424
La Rioja Provincia de La Rioja12.289,983La Rioja La Rioja162,620
Mendoza Provincia de Mendoza13.1,579,651Mendoza Mendoza876,884
Misiones Provincia de Misiones14.965,522Posadas Posadas323,739
Neuquen Provincia del Neuquén15.474,155Neuquen Neuquén242,092
Rio Negro Provincia de Río Negro16.552,822Viedma Viedma48,940
Salta Provincia de Salta17.1,079,051Salta Salta512,686
San Juan Provincia de San Juan18.620,023San Juan San Juan447,048
San Luis Provincia de San Luis19.367,933San Luis San Luis183,982
Santa Cruz Provincia de Santa Cruz20.196,958Rio Gallegos Río Gallegos85,700
Santa Fe Provincia de Santa Fe21.3,000,701Santa Fe de la Vera Cruz Santa Fe de la Vera Cruz489,505
Santiago del Estero Provincia de Santiago del Estero22.804,457Santiago del Estero Santiago del Estero354,692
Tierra del Fuego Provincia de Tierra del Fuego, Antártida e Islas del Atlántico Sur23.101,079Ushuaia Ushuaia58,028
Tucuman Provincia de Tucumán24.1,338,523San Miguel de Tucuman San Miguel de Tucumán781,023